Uzbekistan has approved an agreement signed between the governments of Tajikistan and Uzbekistan in Dushanbe on March.  According to the Uzbek president’s website, a decree on this subject was signed by President Shavkat Mirziyoyev on March 14.  

The Uzbek foreign ministry is ordered to send an appropriate notification about the fulfillment of all intrastate formalities necessary for entry into force of the mentioned agreement.

Provisions of this decree are reportedly applied to nationals of Tajikistan entering, temporarily staying in or transiting through Uzbekistan from March 16, 2018 until the mentioned agreement enters into force.

Meanwhile, Tajikistan intends to ratify its agreement with Uzbekistan on visa-free travel next week.  The deal enables citizens of each country to visit the other for up to 30 days without obtaining a visa.